BABCP | British Association for Behavioural & Cognitive Psychotherapies > Membership > Awards > Fellowships

BABCP Fellowships

Our Fellowship Award recognises those members who have made a significant contribution to the development of CBT and BABCP. It entitles recipients to use the title 'Fellow of the BABCP'.

There is an application process to become a Fellow of BABCP. All applications are reviewed by the Fellowship Committee.

Fellowship Criteria

  • To be a current BABCP member and have held membership continuously for five years
  • To have been engaged in the field of CBT in the United Kingdom or Ireland for at least 10 years
  • To provide a citation of support from two BABCP members as part of the application
  • To be able to demonstrate a significant contribution to CBT in areas of clinical service; research; teaching/training service development; services to BABCP.

Additionally, where it is recognised that an applicant demonstrates within their application that they might be appropriate to receive an Honorary Fellowship, this recommendation is then forwarded for Board consideration.

Honorary Fellowship

Honorary Fellows will have made an outstanding contribution to the development of CBT or the BABCP. 

You cannot apply to be an Honorary Fellow. Only the Board or Fellowship Committee can nominate Honorary Fellows. This has to then be approved by the Board. In exceptional circumstances, an application for a Fellowship may be recommended for an Honorary Fellowship. 

The Application Process

Nominations for 2024 awards have closed. Applications received after 31 March 2024 will be considered for the 2025 Fellowship awards.

To apply, please complete and submit the online application form.

Fellowship Committee

The Fellowship Committee

  • Professor David Veale (Chair)
  • Philip Tata
  • Professor Roz Shafran
  • Professor Trudie Chalder

BABCP Fellows

2023  Dr David Baker, Professor David Lane, Professor Richard Meiser-Stedman, Dr Patrick Smith, Professor Lucia Valmaggia
2022  Dr Gary Brown, Elaine Davies, Dr Katherine Newman-Taylor, Dr Katharine Rimes
2021 Professor Marcantonio Spada, Dr Peter Phiri
2020 Dr Gillian Todd
2019 Dr David Johnson, Krish Nath, Nicky Lidbetter, Dr Sean Harper 
2018 Dr Alison Brabban
2017 Dr Gráinne Fadden, Dr Shamil Wanigaratne, Professor Sarah Corrie
2016 Dr Michael Duffy, Professor Jo Smith, Dr Mark Serfaty, Satwant Singh
2015 Dr Fiona Kennedy
2014 Kathryn Mannix, Professor Tommy Mackay
2013 Dr Anne Hackman, Dr Freda McManus, Helen Macdonald, John Swan, Professor Neil Frude, Terry Cromey, Professor Stephen Scott
2012 Dr Clive Long
2011 Charlie McConnochie, Nick Grey             

Honorary Fellows

2023 Dr Anne Garland, Dr Stirling Moorey
2022  Professor Trudie Chalder, Lord Richard Layard, Dr Hannah Murray, Professor Shirley Reynolds, Professor Michaela Swales
2020 Bill Davidson, Pamela Myles-Hooton
2019 Professor Roz Shafran
2018 Dr Ann Hackman, Professor John Taylor
2017 Christine Padesky
2016 Gordon Deakin, Judy Hutchings OBE
2015 Professor Chris Brannigan, Professor Colin Espie, Dr David Veale, Professor Mark Freeston, Dr Roger Baker
2014 Professor David M Clark, Dr Jim White, Professor Kate Davidson, Professor Paul Gilbert, Professor Paul Salkovskis
2013 Professor Chris Cullen, Professor Christopher Williams, Dr Melanie Fennell
2011 Amanda Cole, Francis Lillie
2008 Philip Tata
1998 Aaron Beck, Isaac Marks
1997 Laurence Burns
1989 Desmond Poole
1988 Andrew Matthews, Nick Tarrier
1985 Howard Lomas, Rod Holland
1984 Ray Hodgson, William Yule
1980 H Gwynne Jones
0330 320 0851
Registered office
Imperial House, Hornby Street, Bury, Lancashire  BL9 5BN
Privacy Notice
Privacy Policy
0330 320 0851
Registered charity No. 1098704   A company limited by guarantee No. 4839948   Registered in England and Wales   VAT reg No. 732 5316 53